top of page

Zeroing in on What’s Important

Updated: Aug 12, 2019

What’s important to you? Are you solely focused on it?

Some Back Story

At one point way before I decided to try out going into business I didn’t really know what my focus, my why in other words, was.


Even once I thought I had my why, I didn’t! My focus kept going from one thing to another. My focus and my why are two different things. It has been for some time. What’s weird is I have a great why; two of them even!


It wasn't enough, and not because I don’t love those two goofy kids, it’s because I love them so much that my focus wasn’t on the why to do more to spend more time with them. It actually took a “mandatory” training about how to become a better insurance broker (which you can read here) when it hit me like a ton of bricks. The one thing that I excel at with every job, and career move is customer service!


And now here we are…


How do I Focus in on What’s Most Important?

Let's ask the question of what’s most important to you? What is your worthy ideal? It can be anything really.


For me it took years of study, and inner work to try and figure out what it was that I truly wanted. I read a lot of books, watched videos, and journaled... a lot! For myself it all came down to this. I tried working a financial distribution group, and I tried a couple of online stores as well in the past. None of which suited me.


To be able to focus on what's important it takes dedication, and the ability to plan out the long view, and shortening your sight to the steps right in front of you. Having a view of what you want and your vision of your future is what will keep you going. Your vision has to have a strong enough why, or you will never want to accomplish it, or put the time in for it.


Once you have found your grand vision stop looking at it all the time! I know counter intuitive sounding; however the reason is easy. If you are constantly looking at the end goal it can become overwhelming, frustrating, and will burn you out. It's easier to focus on the small steps that will move you forward to obtaining your end goal. One step at a time as it were. Zeroing on what those important first steps are will help move along your path to your goal.


In each of these small steps are going to parts that are needed to get the ball rolling. What parts are they? What skills are you going to need to obtain, develop, and maybe require help with? At first most everything is going to fall on you to complete and do so you are going to need to find and develop skills to get your life moving in the direction you want it. The three over arching areas that most of the experts will tell you is finance/business, health, and relationships/family. Which skills do you need for these, and what are the resources you an use to obtain or learn skills for these?


Quit often I have found books, online courses, videos, and blogs to help find the resources needed to become better at what I'm doing. Once you can identify a few key skills that you will need to get moving I'd suggest setting out time to study, and practice these skills as you go. For instance, myself, I need to learn how to market myself better to reach a bigger audience; so right now I am trying to learn a little more about marketing on a budget, and what kinds of options I have to get our blog out to more people.


To be able to really focus on what's important is you have to take an interest, a true interest in what your doing, and not worry about the outcome so much, and concentrate on what you can control. What can you control? Your attitude, which is everything, your core values, your emotions, your energy, and your work ethic. Just showing up isn't enough anymore although in some cases it is a great start; however people expect more, and you should as well. It's your life, live it!


Study, learn the skills, and put them to great use.


So what important thing are you zeroing in on? Share in the comments below.


It's been a true pleasure writing this for you as always. If you enjoy reading this give it some love with a like, a share, and a comment. Every little bit helps.


Ride Hard, and Live Long


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page