top of page

My Life Has Value!

Updated: Mar 3, 2023

Do you ever feel like the world beats you down? I am here to let you know that you are valuable, and we couldn't do this without you.

Some Back Story

Not too sure where to start on this one. This is an important topic for sure as people aren't feeling valued and not worthy. I know I get down on myself where I don't always feel worthy of receiving the glory of what life has in store for me. When my self-worth dives, I am not always finding a way of building myself up.


For some time, not unlike a lot of you, I had tied my self-worth to my job and paycheque. It makes sense as money has value and we work hard for that money so why wouldn't we tie our value to that measuring stick. The more we strive to earn more the more we can become tied to our pay, and the more we can feel our worth is reflective of that.


It reminds me of a time in a job interview I had with the most prestigious hotel in my area. The interviewer asked, "What do you want to be paid per hour?"


"1,000 dollars per hour," I replied matter of factually. Completely stone-faced and serious about the amount. "However," I continued after giving pause for the interviews to reflect, "I know the job won't pay that much, so perhaps 15 dollars per hour." In retrospect, I should've asked for more money as the job was worth more than the 14 dollars per hour they started me off at.


It helps to know what you value your time at, and what a job's value is; however like I said I should have asked for more.


How Do I Develop Value?

That's a good question and each person is going to feel differently about how they themselves can be of value and bring value to their life.


I believe in a lot of cases it is going to be based around helping people in some kind of fashion. Whether that be counselling, first responders, doctors, lawyers, good citizenship, random acts of kindness (RAK), coaching, or some other thing. Everyone has a calling as to how they can be of value to others and in turn, increase their life-valuation.

Watch Me!!

Did you watch the above video? Kinda stirs something in the soul, doesn't it? With everything going on in the world it can be difficult to hold our own value.


I guess that's a good starting place as well. The state of the world at large is an overwhelming concept for most of us to figure out a way to change it; however, we can start small and work our way up, or scale it as the hip entrepreneurs say these days. You don't have to solve the world's problems in one go or by yourself. Start off with helping one person and recruiting one person to help you help more people.


Recruit?!? What kinda MLM are you running? That's not what I mean, all I mean is to bring someone into the fold who wants to help people as well so you can work with each other and feed off of one another enthusiasm for the goodness you are doing. Whether you are each doing your own volunteer work or working together on a business project to revolutionize sporks, you should find someone to work alongside you in some fashion. Just my thought here is all. I guess another way to look at it is an accountability partner perhaps.


We see movements all the time. Most recent is the BLM (Black Lives Matter) movement which brought worldwide awareness to police brutality and systemic racism. This movement has helped build a conversation around police reform and creating a more inclusive world. You can also look to organizations like charities such as Canucks Autism Network for bringing programs into communities to help families with autistic individuals get out and enjoy group activities. These are just a couple of examples of causes you can attach yourself to if you can't think of anything.


Even a simple donation to a charity can help tremendously.


Your Life has Value! You have to see it first and work hard on it so others will see it as well. Unsolicitedly telling people about the good you have done, to me, is bragging and seeking validation and attention; much like the asshats, you see recording themselves "giving to the homeless" on social media.


I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


If you enjoyed this article you can:


support the show by:

Becoming a patron here: https://www.patreon.com/elderobbo



Become a verified member over on our Discord Server to join us and chat: https://discord.gg/H3Vcw8P


Social Media:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page