top of page

Is Your BEST Good Enough?

Well, yeah, of course it is, but could you do even better?

Some Back Story

Have you ever had a loved one basically tell you that your best wasn't good enough? I accidentally did this with my oldest son when he was in, I want to say, kindergarten and I have done everything I can to make that up. His best is always good enough, and his best is always getting better.


When I uttered those words I instantly regretted it. The instant I seen the words, "your best isn't good enough" hit my sons ears I was heartbroken, and in shock. My dad's words in my voice. He never came out directly and said that; however, it was implied, multiple times.


This is a post more for me than anyone else to remind me that my best is good enough, and that your best is good enough.


How do I know if my BEST is Good Enough?

This is a good question. Did you do the job in front of you to the best of your ability? Was effort full? If you've answered yes than you have done your best and no one can say anything different about it. I know you can always say something about it, because you are your biggest critic, hands down.


So how do you overcome this feeling that you know you did your best but you can't seem to let yourself realize you couldn't have done better? You know I wish I knew this answer better for you, and me.

Always do your best:
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick.

- Don Miguel Ruiz (The Four Agreements)


The best answer I have for you is to look back at your situation that you were in. What was going on it that situation? How were you feeling? This will require some self discovery on your part here as well. When you look back on the situation was there something going on that was causing you not to be at your very best? It could be anything from extra work at the office, to a family member falling ill, or maybe you've had a really rough start to the day.


Each day there are going to be things that come up, and you can only do what you can do in each of these moments. The crappy thing is though you don't always know you're doing your best at the time, and it all comes as hindsight. You can only connect the dots afterwards.

Always Do Your Best:
Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.

- Don Miguel Ruiz (The Four Agreements)


So no matter what life is throwing at you just remember all you can do is your best. No one can judge your effort. I realize that keeping this in mind isn't always going to be easy, and hell it's going to be down right difficult some days, but it's true no one can judge your effort so long as you put the best effort in given the circumstances you were working with.


If today your best wasn't as good as your best from the day before, but something had caused the day to be off than don't beat yourself up about it you did everything you probably could, and you did it to the best of your abilities.


I know there are days where I am struggling to make sure I am doing my absolute best, and even though I probably have I still feel like I completely failed at every turn. From yelling at my kids to get their butts out the door for school, to falling behind in my tasks at work, and not getting enough sleep at night. Some days things just fall apart, and it doesn't come back together until you wake up the next day and become better than the day before.


I guess what I am saying is that no matter what happens look back, and you'll see that you put in your best effort possible, and not to be hard on yourself or others because we are all on this boat together.


It been a great pleasure bringing you this article, and I am going to let it serve as reminder to not beat myself up over the day because I did my best, as did you. If you enjoyed reading this article as much as I enjoyed writing please leave a review at bottom, and give it a like and a share. Everything helps out here.


Ride Hard, and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page