top of page

Unlikely Sources

Where do you get your training and wisdom from? Is it from more traditional sources, or is it a little unorthodox?

Some Back Story

When I was younger I couldn't wait to get out of school and be done with education. How many of you can relate to that concept?


As I was going through school I wasn't enjoying it to the same degree as others were, and I couldn't wait to be done so my time in the institution could end. I pretty well coasted through, and only had a few classes that challenged me, and I was pretty good at those classes; not great but good.


The challenge was what I was seeking now that I look back at it in hindsight. A I moved through my adult life I found myself learning from different sources on different subjects. I was still learning, and that apparently wasn't the issue for me. Learning is perfectly fine and expected to happen. The issue for me was how the learning was taking place.


So with becoming more learned through life what changed in the attitude towards learning? Why has my life become devoted to learning, and implementing more?


Where I Learn From

The places I learn from are the biggest factor to the changes of my learning.


For my continuous education I keep finding places, and things I can learn from that may help me see something in a different way. Some of them may seem really odd, and unconventional like action movies, cartoons, books of fiction, and even children. (OK so the last one maybe more conventional than others).


A lot of the continuing education of Rob has come from books in the business, and the "self-help" sections of the book stores. I have read quite a few different books to get the level of learning required to become better each day. What's crazy is I wasn't even into reading until I got hooked on the self-development kick when I worked with a financial services distribution company a few years back, and now I'm hooked!


As I've gone through this change into wanting to learn more I've also discovered that I can learn things from other unsuspecting sources. What kind of sources you may ask. Well I've learned things from different movies, and TV shows as an example. If you watch with an open mind you can some times pick up on some interesting concepts with in the medium you are consuming.


Documentaries

Some of the most interesting lessons I have taken on come from cinema typically, and quite often in the form of documentaries. I know not overly exciting; however, some of them have some great ideas, and concepts. They also help open your eyes to what is going on in the world, or has been going on that you may not even know about. When you learn about things that happen in the world through the eyes of someone else then you see the world as new, and you can potentially see something that could use a fix that maybe you didn't know needing fixing.

Podcasts

Another great source I have discovered for learning is the power of audio. You mean MUSIC!? No I don't, not unless you are going to be a musician, or work in the music industry in some fashion, and even then I would recommend being deliberate with your listening habits, and not just consume. No I am talking about Podcasts. I have heard these? They have some amazing content, and more always on the way. It's like talk radio that you can curate for yourself, and listen to on-demand.


With hearing Podcasts I have learned a lot about myself, and learned ways of working through my thoughts, feelings, and planning my future. I have listened to hours upon hours of great content on different podcasts that being able to list all would take way to long, and really not be of much interest as you will get what you need out of them that wouldn't get out of them anyway.

Children

Speaking of listening, and watching, I also take lessons from my children as well. Now this maybe confusing to those who don't have any children of their own. Yes I'm older, and yes I am technically wiser, and smarter; however, there is a lot to learn from children. They can be fearless with meeting new people, and learning new things.


Some of the things I am constantly learning from kids, especially my youngest is empathy, and patience. From my oldest it is about doing my best all the time, and be nice to everyone. I fail at these from time to time; however, I am always striving to be better at these, and watching them allows me to learn from a child's perspective.


One of my favorite lessons I've learned my oldest son (follow him on Instagram, Twitter, Twitch, YouTube) is a lesson on text messaging. I thought it was just overly cute, and polite; however, it is really a good way to end a text thread with someone. I mean really we say "bye" at the end of phone calls, letters, and emails. So why not on a text message? When he is done texting he sends, "Ok bye" all the time. I personally think it is really sweet, polite, and a great way to stop the messages.


My youngest who is autistic I watch him, and see huge amounts of empathy towards others, and how he wants to play with others. He is mega sweet, and loves to be around people in his own way which is kind of cute. He really seems to love people, and when he hears other kids crying he has to go and check on them. It's like an impulse for him.

  • Pro Tip: Pay attention to your kids, and be present with them.

Other Learning

I have learned quite a few little interesting things, and had motivation spill upon me from some unlikely sources. Like I said early I have gleaned interesting nuggets from other movies and TV shows. Some show how to be a great leader and always try to do your best no matter the circumstances. Others have a more philosophical interest about life, and what your calling is. Interestingly enough a lot of movies do have little wisdom to impart upon people if you are just willing to listen and watch.


Speaking of listening, and watching I have also learned along the line through my life from people who don't like me, or have some kind of attitude problem towards others. What do you learn there? I learn how people say one thing, and do another. I've learned to attempt to not join in the gossip circles as those who gossip to you probably gossip about you. You can also see a lot in how not to treat others, and make sure you words are backed by actions.


And the last thing I take mental notes from on being a better person, and creating the good I want to see in the world is from Superheros. Yes, superheros. The medium doesn't matter for the learning as each one can provide different lessons, or the same lesson in different ways. I have read countless comics, and watched dozens of movies and animated shows. They all have a good guy wins in the end theme; however, what they don't show is that it may take longer because doing good isn't easy. Most superheros live by a code that keeps them fighting the good fight; even the anti-heroes have a code of conduct they live by to some degree. So why not pay attention to how they are conducting themselves, and create a code for your life?

  • Pro Tip: Watch, learn, create, and adjust as necessary to build yourself, and others.

It's been a great pleasure writing this article for you. If you enjoyed reading it please let me know with a like, share, and comment. Every little bit keeps going.


Ride Hard, and Live Long


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


OK Bye.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page