top of page

The 5 Major Tips to Guard Your Time

What’s your time worth to you?

Some Back Story

Like most I wasted my time… a lot! I didn't understand or even know of the term "guard your time." Now some may say that's what you're supposed to do with your youth, and yeah except you become older eventually.


Not to mention the stress factors that come with not guarding your time.


I've let all kinds of things distract me from my main objective in life, and work to be completed. I am as fallible as anyone.


Until I realized my iPhone has some special things built into it I was a slave to my notifications, and my smartphone to a degree. I am able to recognize that it is a tool to be used; however there are times when the tool can get the best of you and be in control. I discovered it wasn't the only thing that was taking control of my life. I am a big techno-dork, and enjoy technology and figure it should make my life better and easier. This can be something that really back fires on you though and this can take control of your life if you do not implement things correctly.


My major problem with not guarding my time is setting up boundaries, and times to get things done. I have gotten better with this over time, and I am hoping the below jump starts you on to a path of better task management as you will never manage time, time is linear and set in it's course, and extremely limited.


On a long enough timeline, the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.

Which is why you will want to guard your time.


So How Do I Guard My Time?

That's the million dollar question now isn't it? Luckily the answers aren't million dollar answers; however they could be worth millions to you if used, and used correctly.


The FIRST way that truly comes to mind as I am sitting here writing this particular sentence is to turn off the damned TV! You don't need Netflix running in the background as you are trying to get things done. Netflix has become synonymous with taking your time; they even have a term for it that is catchy, and everyone uses, "binge watch." Don't worry I'm not judging you as I am just as guilty as the next person, and the one after that.

  • Pro Tip: If you want to Binge Watch something; find something educational, and/or something you want to learn more about.

The SECOND way, and this one always gets some heat for the idea, is that you shouldn't multi-task, or multi-pause... EVER! The science is in, and no matter how well you think you do this, you actually don't. During these times of "multi-tasking" your IQ lowers, and you lose where you are at, and it takes a lot of time to get your head back into the game to be productive. The catch here is if you are a front facing customer supporter than you have to put what you are doing aside, and help them, and pick it back up afterwards. Not always the best, but the person in front of you is more important.

  • Pro Tip: Focus on one thing at a time. See it through to completion, and then move onto the next project. Start with the most difficult one first, and move through them.

So if working with a client who is in front of you is an ok time of multi-tasking, which in all honesty would be more like multi-pausing, then when is it not ok to multi-task? What is this kind of multi-tasking that is bad? Well let me tell you about email!


The THIRD way is to limit email exposure. Email is quintessentially both the bane of my existence, and the best way to communicate and receive important information. Email can be a black hole of time sucking proportions, and problems that might not be real problems. If you use email heavily you may already have things setup to help control the inbox, and you may still get sucked deep into it especially if you are on your work email at home. I know this is something I constantly struggle with, and have a few tools to use to help me, and still it is a battle to avoid the depths of my inbox.

  • Pro Tip: I learned this from Tim Ferris; setup an auto-response for when you receive email letting people know when you will email them back. This helps control your inbox, and sets expectations with people. Check out the one I use here.

The FOURTH way is by limiting the social media landscape from binging and dinging. There a few apps that can allow you to do this; however the iPhone now has a way of setting up Down Time from the settings menu. I have started using this option as it has helped keeping the notifications at bay, have set specific times where they won't show up, and it won't let me into the apps that I have designated as not allowed. You can also do this on PC, and Mac as well.

  • Pro Tip: Download and try some different apps to find one that works best for you. Here is a good list of some that could help you out.

The FIFTH way to control time suck is to avoid time vampires! Whoa! Wait... vampires? YES! And not just any kind of vampire these are people who use up your time with menial tasks, conversations, and problems. They have no regard for anyone else's time, let alone their own. These one's are harder to avoid and handle as they come in many shapes, and sizes; quite often in the form of coworkers, friends, and family.


So how do you know these people are time suckers? You may not realize it right a way; however you will have to put some attention into what they are saying. Are they talking a higher level or are they in the dirt scratching with the turkeys? Some of this going to rely on sifting through data afterwards, and figure out who is there for something important, and who is there wanting to take your time.

  • Pro Tip: There are few ways to take care of time vampires. One way is to not hang out around the "water cooler," avoid gossip, and make sure you have set times where people can talk to you at work. When talking to time vampires try to get to the point as quickly as possible; if there is meandering let them know you are busy, and will catch up with them later.

Time is our most valuable asset, and if we waste it we can never get it back. Have you seen the movie "In Time" with Justin Timberlake? Quick synopsis is they can trade, win, and deal in time from others to live longer, and have higher social status. We don't get that luxury. You've been warned.


As of this writing I have roughly 7878 days remaining in my life.


It's been a true pleasure writing this for you as always. If you enjoy reading this give it some love with a like, a share, and a comment. Every little bit helps.


Ride Hard, and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page