top of page

Reliability

How are you being reliable? Can your team count on you, or do they feel like you will let me them down?

Some Back Story

Reliability was something I never really considered when I was younger and first entering the workforce; however, it was something instilled in me by my parents.


I was instilled with getting to work no matter what was going in life. There are very few moments where I have missed working. I missed due to illness, but man was I ever dying, or there was something massive happened in life like the birth of a child or loss of a loved one.


Even when I had the self-induced flu I made it into work. Not much kept me from getting to work, once at work though that could be a different story. I wasn't always reliable to do the right thing perhaps to go longer than my scheduled shift; however, during my regular shift hours I worked my ass off.


I was young and a little dumb as I thought I was "sticking it to the man" as it were; however, looking back at it I was really only hurting myself. I could've been earning more money and showing how truly reliable I really could be and add value to myself for the company.


What Does Reliability Look Like?

What a great question!!


Reliability looks like someone who is available and helpful. Someone who is dependable and be counted on to do the right thing.


re·li·a·bil·i·ty

noun

the quality of being trustworthy or of performing consistently well.

To be reliable doesn't really take a whole lot of effort, but neither does not being reliable. As an example of being reliable is showing up to work on time and ready to get the job done. If you are to be viewed s reliable you have to be consistently great with what you do.


With being reliable you get projects done on time and consistently. When you are assigned a task you don't complain about the complexity or, how much time or effort it takes, you just go to work and get the work finished. If you run into a roadblock and aren't sure which direction to go in you head to and ask someone to help out, you don't sit there and curse at how much work it is. You consistent with getting help which makes you more reliable as you know where your current level of knowledge ends and where you need help to move forward which will increase your knowledge and reliability on getting bigger and more advanced projects.


Reliability also looks like emotional intelligence as well. We won't get too deep here on the EQ factor but it keeping your emotions in check does add to your reliability factor. If your emotions are in check you are more likely to have people want to work with you and offer you more opportunities.

I am the best in the WORLD at what I do!!

One way that I try to be reliable is being available to others when they require help. To be as helpful as possible I try to keep my knowledge level up and keep learning and growing as a person and a professional. The better I become the more reliable and the better I am able to help others reach their full potential.


Another great way I try to remain reliable is by having as a consistent attitude as I possibly can. By attitude, I mean a positive attitude, because yes you can be consistent with a negative attitude but where is that going to get you. Having a reliable positive attitude is what people want it shows that you are a happy person and have a good temperament towards others and that you are self-aware enough to know your feelings.


What does reliability look like to you? How are you reliable? If you don't think you are very reliable now; what are you doing to change that? Share with us the Abundance Brotherhood in the comments below. We would love to hear your ideas and responses.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page