top of page

Moral Hazard

When you’re in a crowd or on your own would you do the same thing?

Some Back Story

There was one point where I had been two different people when I was with people and on my own. Am I proud? No. I have learned and grown from this.


Doing good and being a person of integrity is easy when no one is looking; however, in a crowd that can be a different story as going with the crowd and what's popular is easier than keeping your morals.


Peer pressure is a big issue when you're younger and definitely in your teenage years, but it does happen to continue through being an adult as well.


We all feel the push and you'll of fitting in and doing the right thing even when it isn't popular. Is there a balance that can be struck? Are some of us just going to bend to the pressure no matter what?


It's not an easy thing to try and be the same as you are behind the scenes as you are on the stage.


To Be or Not To Be…

This is really the question, isn't it?


To be that person that is going to stand up for what is right even with unsurmountable odds facing you down. To be the rock when the pressure rises and others have a tendency to crack. What sets you apart?


Your moral code! This is what sets you start from all the rest. You have and live by a set of rules that not only guide you but you would die by.


I'm not too sure what your moral code is or what it is that you define your life to be; however, if you're here it must be for the betterment of the human race.


In the world of insurance, we call people who are high risk due to their nature of being, or if we feel they are keeping things from the insurance company, or say things that make one stop and go "hmmmm...." a Moral Hazard. They are of questionable character.


Mor-al Haz-ard

noun

moral hazard occurs when someone increases their exposure to risk, especially when a person takes more risks because someone else bears the cost of those risks.

Figuring out your guiding principles will guide you through what you are wanting to do in life. If you haven't set anything and decide on moral guides and you have trouble adhering to them don't worry apparently it can take 66 days to instill new habits, and creating and adhering to your morals can take some time.


One of the things I would look at doing when deciding on your moral code, or whatever you want to call it (I call mine Rules of Engagement) is to run it through a quick test. Here are a couple of examples of questions to ask.

  • How will it create good?

  • How will it be useful?

  • How will it make others feel?

This is the test I use to create my Rules of Engagement. This is an evolving document that I am writing more to as I go along.

  1. Be positive and helpful

  2. Be respectful to others

  3. Do not disrespect others or create drama between people

  4. Racism and discrimination are not tolerated

  5. Do no harm

  6. Do my best

These are the rules I try to live by. I am fallible though and sometimes I don't follow through to the best of my ability; however, it is my best at that given time. Treating people with respect and dignity is something we should all fundamentally be allowed. These rules will evolve and become more in-depth as time requires and will be added to as well. This is kind of like a Constitution where amendments will be added with the passage of time and values.


Now that you know what a moral hazard is what are you going to do to limit your exposure to causing harm to others. What are your rules of engagement? What code do you live by? How did you come up with your moral code?



I hope you enjoyed this read. I would love to hear your thoughts in comments in the below.


Ride Hard, and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

تعليقات


bottom of page