top of page

Have to VS Get to

The battle of the ages. Do you have to do a thing or do you get to do a thing?

Some Back Story

It still happens, probably more frequently than I admit, that I find doing a thing to be a burden more than a blessing.


Some really clear moments of me “having to do a thing” is when it comes to grocery shopping. I truly find this task to be a huge a burden in my life. I know it’s a necessity, and require food to feed my children and myself; however the whole thing is not pleasant to me.


As I was growing through my customer service careers, and learning as much as I could about being the best I could be. There were more days then not about how I felt that I was "having to do a thing" instead of "getting to do a thing." I usually felt like most of everything I was having to do was more of a burden than a blessing. I mean seriously having to get up and go to work to earn money to have fun! What the hell? So lame they should just give me money. NO I never went on welfare as I am strong, and able bodied, and knew it was not a proper way to go through life for myself. After all I had goals.


One day not even that long ago, but long enough I can't remember when I awoke to the idea of looking at "getting to do a thing" instead of "having to do a thing." This idea helped change my whole out look on things.


How is This a Blessing?

Everything can become a blessing if you just look at it from a different angle. You have to open your heart, and your mind to the idea that what you are doing is truly a blessing even if it doesn't feel like it at the time.


How do you look at it as a blessing? Well you can look at it in two different ways, and combining them will have a profound effect on your view of "doing the thing." You can see what you're doing as being better than the alternative, and that at least you are doing "this thing" and not someone longing to do that "thing." It is a little bit of negative spin on a positive idea. This is more meant for to realize you are blessed to be doing what you are doing, such as grocery shopping because there are people in the world who don't get to for one reason or another.


The other way of looking at "getting to do the thing" is by how it is ultimately helping achieve your endgame, or in other words your goal. Being deep in the soup, and looking at where you are, and where you are going is a little bit tricky for sure. You may not be exactly where you want to be; however you are where you need to be to learn a lesson. This lesson will help you stay positive, and view what you get to do as true blessing, perhaps in deep cover. Compiling a goal will help you stay focused on going forward, and seeing what you are doing as being able to "get to do the thing." As you keep an eye on the goal and work away towards it, you'll be able to truly look back, and realize that what you were doing to get to where you want to be is the blessing as all the growth comes from the journey.


So if you can look at where you've come from, or what you have that others may not, and keep an eye towards the future than you have the ingredients to be seeing what you "get to do" as blessing. No matter what it is that you are in the midst of right now it really is a blessing that you are getting to do that thing instead of having to, and being burdened.

Choice. The problem is choice.

- Neo (The Matrix Reloaded)


Like everything in life it all comes down to choice. We have the option to choose our outlooks, and views of the world. We have the choice to view our life as a blessing in everything we do, or a burden in everything in we do. Making the choice to view your doings in life as "having to do them" puts a burden, an unnecessary burden on you, and will weigh you down in the long run. Making the choice to view your doings as "getting to do them" makes everything a blessing, and gives you more zest to give your doings more life, and energy. Which will you choose?

You choo-choo choose me.

- Ralph Wiggum (The Simpsons)


It's been a true pleasure writing this for you as always. If you enjoy reading this give it some love with a like, a share, and a comment. Every little bit helps.


Ride Hard, and Live Long


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page