top of page

Focus Up, and Prove'em Wrong

We all have times when we lack focus, and that can come as people start to give you criticism, and doubt in your mind. They may have your best interest at heart, but only you can know what is best for you.

Some Back Story

When I was young I was often told that I wasn't good enough, or that I couldn't do certain things. The main culprit was my father. He used to be quite mean about things especially when he had been drinking, which was majority of the time.


I remember in my early teens I wanted to play football; however, according to my father I would never make it as I wasn't tough enough. So I played rugby for a season in grade 8, which I didn't last at, not because I wasn't tough enough, it was because I didn't understand the rules.


As I grew older the naysayers never went away they just became different people in my life. Friends, Family, co-workers, and the list goes on. You know the people I am talking about; they seem to have your best interest at heart when they are crushing your hopes and dreams, but really it doesn't come off that way does it?


Focus Up,but HOW?

One way that I know of getting your focus up, and laser it in is by taking whatever emotion you are feeling whether it be anger, sadness, happiness, or some other emotion and bring it to bear on whatever it is that you are trying to accomplish. I can from time to time become quite angry about things, and over the last couple of years I have learned through trial and error, and patience how to focus it into more productive means such as this vary blog post you are reading.


Another way I get my focus up is by eliminating as many distractions as I can such as the TV, and my smartphone. These two things alone have created so much distraction, and lost productivity that I can't get easily back or really back at all. Other times to eliminate the distractions I will literally close myself in a quiet room (usually my bedroom) so I work in quiet and more or less distraction free.


Stay focused, go after your dreams and keep moving toward your goals.

- LL Cool J


Getting your focus, and putting forth is a battle of wills, and requires discipline. The discipline to keep your focus will ultimately get you to your final destination. Having the focus on your goal is a two part focus. One part which should be at least 3/4 of your focus is the small steps in front of you, and part two is focusing on the long game goal but this one is not to be the full time focus.


When you get your worthy ideal in focus they can become quite overwhelming, and anxiety inducing because they are so large, and massive. This is something bigger than anything you've ever had taken on before. So what do you do? You focus on the smaller pieces of the grand vision. Keeping your focus on the larger overall objective will eventually burn you out, and you'll give up your focus, and your dreams.


Keeping your focus on the smaller steps toward your grand vision is your better option as the smaller bite sized pieces are easier to get through. They are less overwhelming, and are surmountable. Depending on the steps they can help give you easier wins which help you keep your focus, and allow you to move forward. This way also if a step comes up short and you don't accomplish it you'll be able to maneuver a lot quicker and really bounce back a lot easier.


So with all this being said, lets together work on our focus, and bring to bear our greatest triumphs, and make our worthy ideals reality.


Ride Hard, and Live Long


It's been my pleasure to write this for you.


Sincerely,

Rob



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page