top of page

Everyone Just Stay Calm

Updated: Mar 23, 2020

With the uncertainty of the world and the 24hr news cycles spreading panic; how do you keep calm?

Some Back Story

Once upon a time ago, I was once prone to panic and nervousness. I used to jump into scared action when gas prices would go up just a little bit (0.02¢/litre).

Yup, that’s right like a scared little bunny I was. I did notice those I wasn't the only one. With the inset of the ”Great Recession” in 2008, I wasn't the only one.

people live in fear of things they have no control over and irrational ideas. My ex-wife used to fear the end of the world (Dec 21, 2012) which caused her some increased anxiety and depression.


This was something I didn't understand; however, I did my best to work with her through it all and discovering it wasn't so much the fear of the end of the world but death. Made a lot more sense to me.


What if the World is Coming to an End?

Don't Panic! Yes, that's right. Even if everything around you is going to hell in a handbasket it suits you best to keep your calm and be cool. The better you can keep your fear and other emotions under check the clearer view you will have.


I know that makes sense right? However, when you are in a crowd of people are you still able to keep your calm and cool or do you get swept up in the mob mentality? If you do, no sweat a lot of people do and it's not an unusual occurrence for that to happen. There is something of a power in a crowd that people just get swept up in what's going on and can't resist.


What does help me at least is not watching the news or reading the news. I may skim through a few articles just to keep up a little; however, I don't dedicate a lot of time to it because it is one of those black holes of despair. There isn't a lot of positivity in the news and it starts to feel like it is designed to keep in a constant state of fear and anxiety.


The other thing to keep away from to avoid being panicked is social media. This has some of the worst effects on the human emotional system and it is one of the best ways of spreading false information to get the people riled up and panicking.


A great example here is the |Great Toilet Paper Shortage of 2020" and how that came to be. We here in Canada have the luxury of having toilet paper manufacturing built into our country. No need to panic right? Wrong! Because somewhere in the news cycle it was reported that Japan was suffering a toilet paper crisis the whole world started hoarding toilet paper. Why was Japan singled out? Because they actually had a shortage as China was not able to ship toilet paper to Japan for a period as the country was on lockdown to fight off an infectious disease spreading across the country. Due to do this epidemic they weren't exporting, and Japan suffered a shortage for a short time. Being the wonderful rational creatures we are we got a hold of this news story and ran with it and caused mass panic and shopping sprees to stalk pile for something that wouldn't be a forever problem.


So when faced with something that could cause panic is to remember that keeping a cool head will prevail, and you'll come out healthier and less stressed than others for it.


I hope you enjoyed reading my article as much as I enjoyed writing it for you. If you find it useful even in the smallest bit please share it with others so they can learn and grow.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


PS: If you enjoyed this article you can:


support me by:



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page