top of page

Burned Out AF!

How are you feeling? Lately, we’ve all been pressed to edge & in some cases beyond.

Some Back Story

This Back Story has been postponed for the time being.

Recognize the Feeling

With all the quick and unforeseen changes sweeping across the globe and our lives, the feeling of burnout can be sudden and overwhelming.


I have gone through massive amounts of burnout a few years back working two full-time jobs and trying to be a father and husband. I was failing at it all after a while because I was burning out and I was burning out rapidly.


The feeling of burnout is somewhat easy to recognize if you've gone through it before if you haven't it may be a little more difficult to realize. Some things to keep an eye out on is your focus, emotions, and energy levels.


For me, it is fatigue, higher irritability, low mood, and a lack of focus and energy. Once I get into this state of burnout I usually have to stop what I am doing and try to regroup quickly or take some time away from where I am and recalibrate myself. Quite often this is a walk or a bike ride something where I can focus on what I am doing and clear my mind of what was going on.

The only really way to overcome burnout is to try to prevent it, to begin with, but with today's crazy world and how connected we are it is becoming more difficult to avoid the looming burnout a lot of us are feeling already. With this new change to the world, and going to be in post-COVID-19 world things are going to be a lot different and stress is going to be higher which will cause higher rates of burnout.


With working in a field deemed an essential service we are seeing a lot of people trying to get things covered as quickly as possible and not having a lot of regard for others' health and safety. Now, this isn't to say this everyone but it is quite a few. With the people pouring in trying to get things done in case we are officially locked out and told to go home the days are going by quickly and we miss lunch breaks and we get home and are completely wiped out.


So the way I am combating burnout is through trying to make sure I take my breaks at work, doing something for me, and taking time to relax at home and clearing my head on the drive home. I was so drained out the other day from being short-staffed and overwhelmed I even decided that an extremely early bedtime was also in order for me.


I've been trying to take stock of my mental and emotional states more to make sure where my head and heart are at so I am not taking out my frustrations on those I love and I can focus on what matters for everyone and that is my boys and I staying healthy.


To combat some of the burnout I also follow my creative pursuits like this blog and videos, plus I also journal as well to help keep everything clean and in perspective. What do you do when you are facing burnout? How do you handle it? I would love to hear your mechanisms for coping with burnout and I am sure The Brotherhood would as well, so if you feel inclined to leave a comment below and help someone out.


I hope you enjoyed reading this article as much as I enjoyed writing it for you. If you found anything helpful, fun, or useful please share this article with others.


Until next time...


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


If you enjoyed this article you can support me by: Subscribing here: https://www.patreon.com/elderobbo Donating here: https://www.streamlabs.com/elderobbo #BeTheSolution #Awareness #Inspiration #Lifestyle



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page