top of page

Structure Your Day

How are your days when there is nothing pre-scheduled?

Some Back Story

Well this is more of a now story.


What Happens if you Don't schedule Your Day?

Well speaking from experience my days run away with me and I don't seem to get a lot done which is too bad. Freedom of time also requires the discipline to control what you do with that time as well.


Since having no employment to look forward to in the mornings to take up 8+ hours of my day and having to fully rely on myself to schedule my days it has not gone super well. For the first week or so it was fine but then it wasn't.


As much as I enjoy the freedom I have I am realizing that I do require structured time in my days so that way I can get everything accomplished, and will be able to keep my kids on a schedule as well. With them being out of school for an extended time now they haven't had much of a schedule either.


So what to do in these times where there is nothing preordained upon me? Well for starters I am sticking with my wake schedule so when my alarm goes off I get up and get my day going. I have also kept my Morning Show going 4 days a week. Keeping things that I can look forward to doing does help as well.


So I as unwonderful I am at planning my life and kind of doing everything on a whim-ish. I am not always the most disciplined person; however, it is something I am going to have to be better at scheduling and creating a structure for my days. I have been pretty good at keeping a bit of a structure for my youngest son but not myself.


One of the things that have been losing out for my lack of scheduling myself is that my video production that requires editing has taken a hit and I am behind on it again which sucks. I am working on getting everything back to where I want it to be. Even this blog is a little behind as well, but not too bad. Sadly 15 Second Thoughts has fallen away and Trail Tale is about one week ahead of where it was a month and a half at one point. I am working on keeping Trail Tale ahead and I am going to work on getting the 15 Second Thoughts up and running again.


One of the things I am going to do to keep me on track is I am going to share the Production Calendar to the site as well so everyone can be my accountability helpers.

What gets scheduled is what gets done.

I guess this isn't so much something as a way of helping you but a way of showing you that you are not alone in the fact that keeping a schedule is difficult. I am not really good at it and working on getting better at it.


I am using a wall calendar that I can fill things out on to help keep things straight at a glance and I also use my phone calendar to get the notifications I need for different aspects of life that require my attention. One app I've discovered that I'm trying to get better at using is Trello. I have created several boards and one with my calendar of when things are to be published. It has been working well so long as I work it.


I would love to hear what you use to keep your days straight. I am all in for tips and tricks that seem to be working for you. If you have any just type them into the comments below.


I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


If you enjoyed this video you can:


support me by:


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page