top of page

Productivity and Sleep

The double-edged sword ⚔️ between accomplishment and getting the proper amount of sleep. 😴

Some Back Story

At one point in my life I always figured sleep was for the week and if slept “too much” you were a “wad of cookie dough.”


As I grow up and have more on my plate with responsibilities, work, kids, content production, and trying to accomplish my goals I’ve realized a proper amount of sleep is what we all need to re-energize our batteries.


This concept was lost on me for quite some time until I was burning out. I was working two full-time jobs and trying to be a father and husband. Needless to say, I wasn’t doing my most important job of being a father very well, or at all. It got to a point where I was making bad judgements and felt like I was operating in a fog all of the time. I couldn’t concentrate or focus on anything very well. It took seeing my doctor to realize how bad everything was truly getting mentally, physically, and emotionally.


Luckily I recognized I was having issues and went to the doctor. Even more importantly I wasn’t stubborn with the advice the doctor provided and I followed. This was a big turning point for my health.


SLEEP!? I Have to Much to Get Done

Yes, sleep! Without sleep how are you supposed to get everything accomplished that you want in life?


Think of sleep like recharging the battery in your smartphone. Sleeping helps your body rejuvenate your systems and helps your brain store and sort your day into the appropriate areas. It also helps any updates to your brain and inner working systems to help fight off disease.


Finding your rhythm of sleep is important as well. Find where you are more effective and work in those times in which your more mentally at your peak for the day. Some people are morning people, some people are night people, and some people are a little of both. You don't want to force yourself into one or the other as your body will revolt against you eventually. You can win for a while but mentally and physically you are draining yourself out way quicker.


So as an example I am a little bit of a morning and a night person. More night then morning but I can do both quite well. I am smarter in the morning and more creative in the evening. I am usually up at around 530am and head to bed around 1030pm. I try to keep this schedule as regular as possible so my body isn't trying to figure out what the hell is going on. My tasks that require more mental acuity I try to do in the morning, and in the evening when I am trying to relax and do something, such writing or editing video, I do at night where my mind can wander a little and find other creative things I can do.


My sleep schedule is usually about 7 hours, and no less than 6. Some nights I have gotten away with 5 hours however it is not something I try to make a regular habit. If I am rundown by the weekend I let my body and mind rest longer so during the week I am more mentally alert and creative during the week.


This works for me; however, I am not a doctor and you should maybe consult one before trying to find your sleep patterns. You can also experiment a little with it and find out what works for you. Hopefully your job or business can accommodate your sleep pattern. Some people, like my brother, prefer waking later in the day so instead of an early riser hs wakes up around 10 or 1030 and is up later which is more of his strength zone for getting things done.


If you prefer sleeping in as it is what your body and mind require than that is perfectly ok. You aren't lazy you are working in your waking strength zones. If you are an early riser and head to bed early you aren't lame you are just in your mental waking strength zone. You probably get more accomplished in your zone than others who try to force it.


What is your waking strength zone? When do you get more accomplished? Or do you burn the candle at both ends to be more productive? Comment below on how you operate.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page