top of page

Pride and… HELP!!!

When you’re in need of help does your pride keep you from asking, or do you swallow that and ask?

Some Back Story

Asking for help doesn’t always come naturally to me. I feel it may not come naturally to a lot of us.


Its not an easy thing admitting when you need help and taking the time to ask for it. If you don't ask for help no one knows you need it.


I think asking for help for whatever reason may have been at some point ingrained in me to be a sign of weakness and failure. I could be wrong though but it seems that way in retrospect. A lot of who we are is ingrained by outside influences from when we are younger and this could be something that I learned along the way for sure.

How Do I Get Help?

Well, to get the help you have to know when you need help.


If you're used to going it alone this is going to take some getting used to for sure. If you don't know when you need help you are going to have to really pay attention to your moods and how you are feeling.


At work, for some time I didn't really realize what kind of help I needed and that it was getting pretty ugly for me. I felt like I was drowning all the time in the sea of neverending problems, no direction to go, and couldn't keep up. It's not a good feeling and I felt like I had to be the rock holding everything together and trying to make sure everyone else got what they were needing as well.


I had a sense of pride in figuring things out on my own and not asking for help. Yes, I would say it was ego-driven for sure. At the same time, I knew some of my limitations and would ask for help where needed but I was not consistent with it.


Swallowing your pride and saying, "I need help" is not a sign of weakness or helplessness. It is really one of the bravest things someone could ever do for themselves and others. It takes real courage to put yourself out there and ask for a helping hand.


So the two things you will need to do to get help are 1) recognize when you need help early on, and 2) swallow that pride and ask for the damned help already. It's really that simple. Well besides recognizing your emotions and how your body could be reacting to what is going on and how you are handling it.


Taking some time to write down how you are feeling and what is going on physically and mentally can help you discover what to keep an eye out for when you're overwhelmed and stressed out from not asking for help.


How are you doing? Do you need a hand? Answer the questions below in the comments.


I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I enjoyed writing it. Share with others if you found something interesting or useful.

Thank you for reading.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


PS: If you enjoyed this article you can support me by:


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page