top of page

Learning Moments

When something goes wrong do you see it as a failure or a moment to learn something?

Some Back Story

To answer the above question myself... I used to see it as me being a failure, and sometimes still do.


If a missed a sale I would beat myself up pretty bad and look at it as a failure, and it wasn't until later on that I would review the sale I missed and try to figure out where I fell down on it. This was an all-day process and now I have it down to a couple of hours-ish. This is an ongoing process of course much like everything in life. It is not a one and done.


When my kids messed up, and still this happens from time to time, I would get mad, really mad. I find being able to get to a learning moment easier with my kids then I do myself now. I find being able to sit with them and say, "Hey I am disappointed in what happened however let's learn from it and make sure it doesn't happen again." At this time I would try to find resources.


Where Can I Find Learning Moments?

They are all around you. Not all of them have to come from something bad that has happened those happen to be the easiest ones to learn from because the lesson is easier to find there.


My most recent learning moment as of this writing is with my oldest son AidMan. He went little nuts with digital purchases and now he has t reap the consequences. To his credit, he was willing to get right to fixing the issue and was ready t pound the streets to earn that money back. NOw he is starting a paper route and wants to do dog walking to help people out and earn some extra dough. is learning moment is now having to pay back the debt that he has accumulated.


My learning moment is the realization that along the way I have failed him in teaching him how money works and some of the finer points of saving his money. This isn't his fault as it is mine. I have not set a great example here and I have not shown what can happen if he is better with his money and saves like a good person. This is an admission of my failure to teach him correctly, and now I have to step up and help show him how things can be when done correctly and not how things are done if done incorrectly.


One thing I've noticed with learning moments is you never know they are learning moments until they arise. Life has a funny way of teaching people lessons they need at the time they truly need them.


I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I did.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


If you enjoyed this article won't you give it a share, a like, and a comment.


You can also support me by:

Becoming a Patron: patreon.com/elderobbo


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page