top of page

Issues

Your issues are not unique to you... believe me, we all have issues to some degree.

Some Back Story

Not sure if we really need a back story on this topic or not but perhaps it'll show that no matter how "normal" you maybe everyone has something they are dealing with from their past. Something that has caused an issue of some kind to come about.


Some of where I come from in life isn't completely pretty, but it isn't terrible either it is a very middle ground to the point where it is almost kind of normal-ish nowadays. My dad was an alcoholic, a functioning alcoholic who did his best with what he had to offer. My mom was, and still is, a hardworking woman who took on challenges as they came up to her and she rocked it the best she could. Were they perfect? No, of course not, no one is.


Growing up is difficult work and the people you come into contact with, whether for good or bad have a tendency to mold your outlook and future interactions.


The Greatest Wall

So to keep ourselves from being hurt we erect massive walls around ourselves to keep people at bay. Ok so I should say at least I do... sometimes.


Walls around yourself can seem like they are really beneficial, and they could be to keep your guard up from being hurt and traumatized; however, there has to be an entrance to get through these walls as you can't close everyone out due to your issues, especially if that person had nothing to do with said issues.


We all have something from our past that we should be dealing with in the best possible fashion. Self-destructing isn't an option but a lot of us take that as the best-case scenario.


Whatever your feelings are they aren't wrong and you should be feeling them all the way through so can deal with them and process them properly. I find listening to music that suits my mood at the time to be really beneficial and helps me get through whatever it is that might be going on in my world. As I am typically either angry or happy I have music to play to each side. Other things that I do is go for walks and ride my bike. Getting out into nature is quiet and helps me think through different things.


Sometimes the issues run quite deep and to this, I say seek professional help there is nothing wrong with getting help from a counselor or psychiatrist. If you are unsure of where to go or what to do, especially in the time of COVID here is a link to a site called BetterHelp.com. I've done some checking and they seem like a reputable and good way to get into finding some help with things that are bothering you, plus it has come highly recommended by a few great podcasters that I love to listen to.


I guess where I am going with this is, don't let your issues keep you from finding what or who you want. Everyone has issues, and we all can work within other people's issues so long as the person is willing to work on themselves to resolve those issues. I am also saying to keep your guard up as to not be taken advantage of or to be consumed by someone or something else. It is kind of a weird balance.


So let's be kind to one another.


Ride Hard and Live Long.


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.


If you enjoyed this article you can:


support the show by:

Becoming a patron here: https://www.patreon.com/elderobbo



Become a verified member over on our Discord server to join us: https://discord.gg/H3Vcw8P


You can find me on social media:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page