top of page

Adversity

What kinds of adversity do you face down? How often do you face adversity?

Some Back Story

Going through adversity is a way of growing.


Through my growing, I wasn't always very good with adversity and would let it conquer me to a point where I would abandon what I was doing. There are still times where I am not always good at it either. I don't pretend to be perfect in any way, just growing.


With recent changes in working environments, there has become more adversity and stress than what we are probably normally accustomed to.


How do you overcome Adversity?

Well, that depends on you, to be honest.


It will depend on how you view adversity and what it means to overcome these challenges. If you view adversity as something that can hinder your progress there is a pretty good chance you won't get past it. If you view it as a bump in the road towards your goals and dreams than there is a good possibility you will get by it.


As an example, if you lose your job that is adversity that needs to be solved and worked through. It isn't as easy in these cases some times as a lot of people tie their identity to their job or career. If you tie your identity to your job it is difficult to get through it. In this kind of situation tying your identity to your work instead of your job would be a better way of doing this.


Wait... what? Isn't your job and your work the same thing? Nope! They are two different things indeed. One is your job or career which is where you do your work. Your work defines you as to who and how you are. If you are a strong worker, you should have your identity tied to it. If your work is exceptional, punctual, and you are reliable then you can have it tied to your identity. Your job is not your work ethic it is the place where you exhibit your skills.


Remember skills are transferable from job/career to job/career.


There are other adversities as well to work on overcoming such as emotional adversity, relational adversity, and many others. These all require some introspection to make sure you are in control of your emotions, and that you aren't tying your identity to these things as well.


I know that personally I am always working on getting adversity and making sure that my identity isn't tied to something like a job or person, but with how I am with my work and relationships. Sometimes for me overcoming adversity is just making sure I sit down and find the time to do the work I need to do.


I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I did. Please give it a like, share, and comment.


Ride Hard and Live Long!


Sincerely,

Rob Hicks


If you enjoyed this article you can: support me by: Subscribing here: https://www.patreon.com/elderobbo Donating here: https://www.streamlabs.com/elderobbo #BeTheSolution #Awareness #Inspiration #Lifestyle

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page